First-Ever Maysville R-I School Supporter Award Given to Steve White

Maysville R-I School Supporter of the Year Award was given to Steve White at the Maysville Area Chamber of Commerce annual banquet. Maysville’s biggest fan was well deserving of this first-ever award, as his encouragement and smiling face is seen at every sporting event.

The banquet held on April 12, 2019 attracted a record attendance of 148 supporters. The event was emceed by Warren McElwain. A delicious meal was catered by Kathy Kagay and served by members of the Circle of Friends sorority.

Officers for the 2019-2020 area chamber were announced and are Kerri Huffaker, President; Amy Ford, Vice-President; Pat Fisher-Johnson, Secretary; Missy Meek, Treasurer.

A silent auction of items donated by area businesses and individuals generated funds for the chamber, with fifty percent being donated to flood relief for people in Holt and Atchison counties.

Maysville High School students read the essays they had written on how to improve Maysville. The essay winners were first place, Conner Berry; and second place, Kaylee Brown. First place winner received a check for $100, and the second place winner received $75.

In addition to Steve White being awarded the Maysville R-I School Supporter of the Year, Sara Lucas received the Student Volunteer of the Year. Meals on Wheels Drivers were chosen as Volunteers of the Year, and the award was accepted by longtime volunteer driver Sheila Smith. Kerri Huffaker received the Citizen of the Year award, and the DeKalb County Record-Herald received the Business of the Year award.

The annual dinner and gathering of friends ended with Larry Zieber passing the gavel to the new President, Kerri Huffaker.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *